Artist; Scott Macleod (1956- ) American

18342816_10158667144005553_326170907868125217_nArtist; Scott Macleod (1956-
Artist Statement:
TARGETS
I was making sculptures & installations at a symposium1 in the Czech Republic in 1996.
One day I found a dartboard in a second-hand shop & realized that it was made of tightly-rolled paper, a kind of heavy paper or thin cardboard. I thought that I might be able to make something interesting by unwinding this dartboard.
The next day I carefully unwound most of the dartboard onto the third story floor of an 18th-century tower of the castle, leaving a small section at the very center, the bulls-eye.
I liked the result even more than than I’d imagined: to me it looked very much like a topographical map & it looked especially good in that room. This is one of my favorite installations ever, partly because it was such a simple idea. The piece remained in place for several weeks after I returned to the USA.
I liked this piece & wanted to make another one, but didn’t get a chance until 2001 when curator Jay Jensen of the Contemporary Museum in Honolulu, Hawai’i wanted to buy one for that museum. He asked me to make a couple samples & send him photos of them. I didn’t have enough room to leave them unrolled after taking photos, so I had, for the first time, to roll them up again. When I did this, I realized that, in a different way, these were as interesting when re-rolled as they were unrolled.
1 Mapováni Prostoru (Mapping Space), a symposium organized by Helena Hrdličková, then director of Galerie u Bilého jednorožce (the White Unicorn Gallery), the civic gallery of the Bohemian city of Klatovy. The symposium was held on the grounds of Hrad Klenová (Klenova Castle), about 20km away.
Because I couldn’t rewind them nearly as tightly as they’d originally been wound by machine, the painted dartboard patterns quickly degraded, often in a kind of spiralling away, like smoke from a chimney.
Sometimes, reversals of this disintegrating pattern occur: I think it’s the same type of phenomenon as when the wheels of a moving automobile look like they’re rotating in reverse even though the car is traveling forward. There is probably a mathematical algorithm that describes this effect. This reversal takes several distinct typical forms.
While the basic idea & method of crafting these objects remains consistent, I have discovered that there is great variety in what can be accomplished. Having made nearly 100 of these so far, I have a better understanding of what is possible, & better control over the material, But my control over the end result is still vague and intuitive, so I am still constantly surprised & delighted by what I have made, & am still discovering new possibilities for this work.
Scott MacLeod August 4, 2007

Leave a Reply

